In the midst of adversity, will we keep Praising the Lord?

In the face of adversity (trouble, opposition, pressure, illness, anguish, disappointment, death, etc.) do we give up, become angry, crumble, etc. or do we call on the Lord and praise him for his faithfulness?

Just today I received messages of sorrow, another of diversity & illness, and yet another of an ongoing illness in a family that’s been sick since December. 

A  short story was shared by the Father of the family who is sick. He told of how tired him and his wife are and how tired and sick their children are. Yet in their struggles to get well their faith remains in the Lord and their children believe them when they say it will soon pass. Then he posed these two questions.

Will we keep praying, “He answered YES.”

Will we keep praising the Lord, He answered, YES.”

Amen & Amen

And so it goes, its our faith in the Lord, our love for him and his for us that gives us strength to persevere when adversity hits hard.

It’s amazing to me, and I’m sure many of you, how God always works in our lives for our good and just when we need it. When a message comes across my desk or on my phone that resonates with how I’m feeling or with my troubles, I sit up and take notice.  I never take them for granted. I acknowledge the spirit of God and his faithfulness when he’s reminding me of His mighty power and that he knows exactly what I need and when. Yesterday was one of those days when we needed to hear this sort of message, and then this morning another was delivered, confirming Gods presence and to be encouraged by his word and the promises it holds.

In the midst of the burdens this Papa and Mamma are experiencing, they’re committed to finding their hope in the Lord.  He and his wife are praying the following scriptures over their sick children, themselves and their household and laying all at the feet of Jesus. 

May their faith and trust in the Lord encourage you as well in whatever adversity you may be facing.

Luke 10:19–“Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.”

John 16:33–“These things I have spoken unto you, that in me you might have peace. In the world you shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”

2 Corinthians 10:4-5–For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal (flesh) but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ,

2 Chronicles 20:15–And he said, “Listen, all you of Judah and you inhabitants of Jerusalem, and you, King Jehoshaphat! Thus says the Lord to you: ‘Do not be afraid nor dismayed because of this great multitude, for the battle is not yours, but God’s.

Will we keep praying, YES, indeed we will

Will we keep praising the Lord, YES, indeed we will

Blessings ~

Vicki

NOTE: I am not responsible for any advertisements, nor do I endorse them or any receive payment.

2 thoughts on “In the midst of adversity, will we keep Praising the Lord?

Leave a comment